WhatsApps new update has confused many of us and many of us dont know what the update means and what to do with it. We try to debunk that and give you the treasure chest.WhatsApp rolled out a Snapchat-story like status message feature earlier this week, which shows that the Social Media Biggie is really worried about competition. Now Lets see how to use WhatsApp after the new update.
Once your app is updated to the latest version, you will see a Status tab on the top bar. Just as in Snapchat, you’ll first see your own updates in the bar. Below that, you can see your friends’ new updates and viewed updates.
You can add a status update by clicking the new update button on the bottom right corner which opens the camera. At the bottom, you will find all your recent photos, videos and GIFs in a strip as well. So you can either click a photo or shoot a video or add an existing item.
Once added, you can tap on the status tab and see how many people have viewed your status, just as in Instagram. There are options to delete or forward the status as well.
Additionally, when you are viewing your friends’ updates you can swipe up and reply to them as well. The functionality and execution are similar to Instagram. So all your “Awesome DP”s can go here. This has made it very easy .
Moreover WhatsApp has introduced privacy settings as well to control who can see your status. If you click on the three-dot menu on the top right, you’ll see an option called Status Privacy. Under this menu you can choose all, ‘my contacts except’, or ‘only share with’ options to control status sharing.
Please bear in mind that all these updates will last for only 24 hours and disappear after that. So you will need to update your status every 24 hours. Its good and its bad right. Please tell us using the comments below.
H/T : Huffpost